Did I just see a spider???

Anyone that knows me knows that I am COMPLETELY arachnophobic. Even the thought of a spider, or a photo of one makes my skin crawl. Now I’ll take a hop skip and a jump to another topic, but you’ll quickly see how they’re related…

As quilters, we become accustomed to a certain level of dust and debris. It is inevitable that dust accumulates more quickly in our work areas because of the constant cutting, sewing and shuffling of fabrics. Seriously, how many times have you been told you have thread sticking to your butt? (if not many, they’re just not telling you, but it’s been there…)

This requires near constant upkeep with the vacuum and dust cloth, both of which I deplore and avoid as much as possible. Hence the random strings, lint and tiny bits of fabric that end up on the floor. That appear to be spiders.

Case in point:

OMG is that a spider????

OMG is that a spider????

Nope, it’s a little blue something from cutting fabric. See, there’s a little yellow corner next to it.

ooooooohhhhhh, nope, just some shrapnel on the floor

ooooooohhhhhh, nope, just some shrapnel on the floor

Now, sometimes it looks like something else… just a generic little bug..

a little bug maybe?

a little bug maybe?

But again, just a shard of fabric.

Hey what’s this??

how did that worm get in here?

how did that worm get in here?

Nope, not a worm. a little strip of trimmed fabric. A.k.a. immeasurable joy and unending plaything for the cat.

WAIT WHAT WAS THAT?

WHAT WAS THAT??

WHAT WAS THAT??

As my head jerks back three times and my eyes start doing circles, thinking I saw bugs, by now I’m realizing I am just completely paranoid. It’s lint.

And this one…

I was convinced this was a praying mantis

I was convinced this was a praying mantis

Tell me I’m wrong. Does this NOT look like a praying mantis? I thought maybe one of the cats brought it in as a treasure for mommy. Nope, another example of my ability to make a mess and not know it (this wasn’t even near the cutting board).

So there you have it – my tale of woe. My sad obsession with little uninvited creatures within my safe zone. Hopefully on this one, I am alone.

Happy quilting my friends, may your fabric (and sewing rooms) be pest free!

 

 

Leave a Reply

