Monthly Block – September, finally

September monthly block

September monthly block

OK, I’m going to start off by saying I KNOW I have a problem (ok, more than one). But the one I’m talking about here is that YES I am verbose = I use too many words. So my goal this month it so keep it short.

Plus you’ve already had some info (last month) about this month’s quilt, so there really is no need to elaborate :).

This month is a repeat of last month, only with black-ish background instead of creamy white. It’s actually a brownish black batik, but reads black unless you put it up next to a true black.

I honestly thought I would EASILY like this one over last month, but now I’m not so sure.

I liked the border I did this month, but August’s border is SO awesome! Also I remember why I HATE mitered borders. I thought I’d do myself a favor and not have to attach three separate borders, just miter the corners of one instead by attaching the three together first. Yuck.

And again, the pinwheels sort of disappear when the fabric turns darker…

pinwheels on light

pinwheels on light

pinwheels on dark

pinwheels on dark

The obvious thing to do over the next few months is monthly/holiday appropriate holiday fabrics, which will indeed occur. But I’m going to find a way to make it different than that, because, after all, isn’t that the point?

So let’s compare again:

“The” block –

"THE" block

“THE” block

January result – all scraps in turquoise, bright pink and green (and white)

finished quilt top

finished quilt top

February result – scrap white and purple dyed, sashing matches center blocks (focal fabric)

February quilt

February quilt

March result – different center, but magenta and purple and white match it. I placed the white and purple triangles specifically to ensure the pinwheel came out

march quilt

march quilt

April result – crayon box threw up. center squares were inspiration, all brights were scraps that matched lines in center squares. totally random placement

april quilt

april quilt

May’s version – I think this should be called sunburst

may version of monthly block

may version of monthly block

Here is the quilt WITH the border –

may quilt top with border

may quilt top with border

I keep these two photos in here because I think it’s SO important to include a border on quilts. It makes a frame, which is like closure for your eyes. I think it makes a quilt look finished.

And here’s June –

June version quilt top

June version quilt top

And, July

Julys quilt top

Julys quilt top

While I like the more complete/less sparse look of July over June, I think if I made this quilt top in different colors, with something lighter than the red, that I might like the finished product even more.

August:

August monthly version

August monthly version

And finally, September:

September monthly version

September monthly version

See how many different quilts can be made with just one block and a little imagination? Don’t be put off by a quilt pattern photo in colors you don’t like – give the pattern a good, hearty look, and consider how YOU could make it with fabric you DO like! It might end up becoming your favorite quilt!

 

Leave a Reply

