Monthly Block – August version IS HERE!

AUGUST

AUGUST

So, you’ve already seen the drawings, and the idea. This one came about sort of funny, meaning I knew what I wanted to do, drew it out, colored it in and chose some fabrics. Then I erected my ‘design wall’, which was essentially a piece of batting i hung on the wall with tacks. Cheap, fast and hey, it fit the bill!

pieces on design wall

pieces on design wall

When I hung the pieces up on the wall, I liked the look, but decided I didn’t want each block to be of a specific color, with those cascading down. Rather, I preferred to have more of a gentle wash effect. I ALSO decided that I would repeat this quilt for September, but with a dark background color. That meant I would need to cut everything twice, so any parts I had cut that I had too much of, I would just use for the September version and fill in the spaces with some new fabrics.

So I chose some more fabrics between the colors I already had and took down the details of my choices on paper as I moved them around on my design wall. This was tedious, since I really prefer the throw it together type scrap quilts.

So now I had my desired layout up on the design wall, and the duplicates in a pile sorted out from one corner down to the bottom. I didn’t want to lose track of what went exactly where, so I put together the top with the dark background first while I left my visual reference up on my design wall. So basically September’s top center is finished. ūüôā

I quickly put together August’s top center, and then promptly left the country on vacation.

August top center

August top center

But when I came home not only were many quilting jobs awaiting my attention, this baby needed borders! This stage took me a few days, but I finally settled on a darker-than-the-center-background color for the inner border, a brighter of two reds for the mid (because it tied in better to the outer border),

borders

borders

and the outer border 4″ of the brown leafy batik used for the pinwheels.

August monthly version

August monthly version

Were I to make this quilt again (aside from September, ha), I would use something different for the pinwheels. Perhaps I would have them change shade as well, instead of having them be a constant fabric. You can see how they sort of disappear as the block colors darken.

pinwheels against light

pinwheels against light

pinwheels against dark

pinwheels against dark

So let’s compare again:

“The” block –

"THE" block

“THE” block

January result – all scraps in turquoise, bright pink and green (and white)

finished quilt top

finished quilt top

February result – scrap white and purple dyed, sashing matches center blocks (focal fabric)

February quilt

February quilt

March result Рdifferent center, but magenta and purple and white match it. I placed the white and purple triangles specifically to ensure the pinwheel came out

march quilt

march quilt

April result – crayon box threw up. center squares were inspiration, all brights were scraps that matched lines in center squares. totally random placement

april quilt

april quilt

May’s version – I think this should be called sunburst

may version of monthly block

may version of monthly block

Here is the quilt WITH the border –

may quilt top with border

may quilt top with border

I keep these two photos in here because¬†I think it’s SO important to include a border on quilts. It makes a frame, which is¬†like¬†closure for your¬†eyes.¬†I think it makes a quilt look finished.

And here’s June –

June version quilt top

June version quilt top

And, July

Julys quilt top

Julys quilt top

While I like the more complete/less sparse look of July over June, I think if I made this quilt top in different colors, with something lighter than the red, that I might like the finished product even more.

And of course, August:

August monthly version

August monthly version

See how many different quilts can be made with just one block and a little imagination? Don’t be put off by a quilt pattern photo in colors you don’t like – give the pattern a good, hearty look, and consider how YOU could make it with fabric you DO like! It might end up becoming your favorite quilt!

 

Leave a Reply

