quilting pictures

I have been doing a LOT of work this year. I am incredibly blessed and very lucky to say that my business hasn’t slowed down a bit since Christmas. Couldn’t ask for a better scenario, as a small business owner/self employed artist.

So I thought I would share some photos of work I’ve recently completed. I always enjoy looking at pictures and works others have done, and sometimes find it inspirational. So I hope you enjoy these!

Customers quilt – paisleys all over

paisleys

Quilted for a charity group – the quilt was to be auctioned off to raise funds. This is the top:

top

and the back:

back

This top is one of two identical quilts, only this one was in brights:

whole front

Upon closer inspection, you can see I used a variegated thread in Easter Egg colors, to match the colors in the quilt.

up front

And the back looks pretty cool too!

back

Here’s the sister quilt, in browns and grays:

front

But I quilted it completely different from the other quilt, as you can see from the back:

back

Here is another quilt from the same client. She made two of these, but cut them differently so when the tops were finished, they were different.

top

There were these swirly things in some of the black fabric that looked like thumbprints, so I quilted thumbprints, as you can see on the back quite well:

thumbprints

I wanted to quilt the other top similarly, but couldn’t figure out what to do.

whole front 

 I looked on the internet a bit, doodled a bit, and finally came up with this:

top

This picture really shows it well – it’s called Escargot:

escargot

This quilt was made by her friend,

top 

and I thought she would like a more classic quilting pattern, like feathers. I quilted them within the diagonal lines of the quilt pattern.

feathers

This photo of the back shows the little border and some feathers well:

back

And finally, the Mariner’s Compass. This beautiful quilt was well put together, and she left the quilting entirely up to me.

whole top

She only asked that I fill in the outer purple areas with something that caught the eye, so I made curling purple feathers with variegated thread.

feathers

This photo also shows the feathers, but is also a great example of the outer and inner gold borders. I was SO pleased with how they turned out! It looks a bit metallic, but isn’t – it’s Glide thread.

inner border

This shows that inner border as well:

various

With the lighter spaces, I decided to do heavier quilting, to create that texture. But each round has a different all over design. You can see that above, one having flames and the other a very small meander. See below as well:

top center

Similarly, with the points, I kept the same idea and kept with swirly and rounded themes.

top

points

These quilts were ALL a lot of fun to do. And I greatly appreciate my customers allowing me the freedom to use my creativity with their quilts.

I won’t wait so long before sharing more photos! In the meantime, I hope you’ve enjoyed this little gallery, and perhaps it brought you some inspiration!

Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

