gardening

So I decided this year to get back to my garden. It needed some work – the side boards had sort of caved under the pressure and weight of the soil (not dirt, it’s soil), and bowed out. It was also a bit difficult to reach the back of the bed, because of it’s depth and the backside is close to the brick wall.

I began the overhaul earlier this spring, deciding to break the one long box up into smaller boxes. If and when I need, I can add additional boxes in front of these, as I do not plan to fill in the spaces between the boxes with grass. I’d rather put mulch or stones in there, and eventually end up with a backyard oasis rather than a grass field that we don’t use.

Not sure what I would use for the box edging, I went to Lowe’s to look at my options. I decided that moment on some inexpensive decorative cement blocks. So I bought a bunch and hauled them to the backyard.

I basically lined the beds just outside the boards with the blocks, and knocked off the top two boards. It doesn’t look perfect, but seriously, this is a garden = I’m not trying to make it perfect, just functional. I need to buy more blocks to finish the last box, or boxes; not sure yet if I am going to break it up into two or leave it one long and use that to plant viney things, like squash.

garden boxes, part complete

Despite the transformation being incomplete, I believe the results are fabulous. I moved the extra soil to some pots on the patio and filled the boxes a bit higher than they were.

My asparagus is thriving, and I’ve picked it for longer than I could have imagined it would keep producing. I picked the last spears this morning and am now going to let all remaining spears frond out to feed the corms and make them even stronger than this year.

some asparagus I picked

I didn’t actually pick al these in one day. I usually get two to eight spears each morning. I wrap the cut end in a wet paper towel and it keeps them fresh. I gather until I have as much as I want to cook and then start again.

asparagus plants, allowed to frond

I also planted two varieties of cherry tomato in the patio pots,

black cherry variety

golden cherry variety

(you can see the kale on the left peeking out of the other pot) and radish and carrot seeds in the empty box (see below).

carrot and radish shoots

I have a variety of seeds planted in these little pots, almost ready to transplant outside.

indoor planting, almost ready to move!

I also have this strange plant in the inbetween… I think it’s a bean plant. A second one has sprouted up since I took this photo two days ago!

a bean plant maybe, from last years seed?

 

I bought my seeds from Seed Savers Exchange. I chose organic heriloom seeds, to ensure everything I grow for my family has not been tampered with in ANY way.

I love to garden. It does get really hot in the Texas summer, but the fact that I can feed my family from what I grow is a great feeling. Weeding, as long as you keep it under control, can be therapeutic. And it’s a fun challenge to try to get these little dried out seeds to grow into delicious edibles, keeping the pests at bay. ALL while keeping it organic. It CAN be done!

 

Leave a Reply

