Custom Projects

The last two quilts I have worked on have been custom jobs. The last one was very exciting for me, as it was a small Judy Neimeyer pattern in turquoise and purple. I have a ton of purple thread, and love to work with purple quilt fabric, but have not a stitch of purple in my house or wardrobe. Go figure.

Anyway, now that the first project is complete, I am completely focused on this second quilt. It’s huge – king size, alternating nine patch on point, desert colors with an appliqued border. It’s beautiful, and it will be raffled by a quilt guild to raise funds. I am so pleased to be quilting it, but it is definitely a lot of work.

My original intention was to do something quite different than what is turning out. But much like the purple quilt, I wanted to really make the quilt have a texture to it, enunciated by the quilting. I knew what I was going to do in the borders and that I’ve done. But at this point, even after stitching in the ditch of every stinkin diagonal set block, I’m still not exactly sure what I’m going to do. Whatever it is, I’ll be doing it today.

I did draw over the weekend, and came to a conclusion about what I wasn’t going to do, and what I think I want to do. But sometimes my best work is that spontaneous last minute decision, so we shall see!

Whatever project you are working on, happy quilting my friends.

 

3 thoughts on “Custom Projects

  1. Kimber says:

    These quilts are so beautiful – as is your talent!!!!

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    gorgeous work Maria!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

