Custom “Alaska” Quilt

I actually received this quilt top and back from my client back in August, I think. Maybe it was September or October, I just know that it was last year, and she told me not to rush. She travels in an RV with her husband, after raising their children in Alaska for over 20 years. She happened to stop into Quilt Country and Joan was sweet enough to call me to see if I wanted to quilt it. All the owner said was, “Quilt it with love.” And to center the back.

I do seriously quilt better when I have time to let a quilt marinate in my head. Unless the fabric speaks loud and clear of a certain direction, or the client wants something very specific. But I truly think my best results come from the clients that tell me to do whatever it is I do. This is one of those cases. I am quite proud of this quilt; granted, it was beautiful before I touched it! But the artistic license that I granted myself even gave me a start.

I broke the rules. I used variegated and solid threads. I crossed over lines. I embellished what I saw on the fabric, and made the scenes meld together by crossing over what I was quilting in one area over another. For example, I quilted a lot of flowers, since every other square was blue flowers, but in some areas, the flowers cross into the water, or they overlap with the tall grasses. But isn’t that what happens in nature?

If you appreciate it, then I am happy for you. If you don’t, I understand. Long ago resided within me a person that would have scoffed at this work. So I am happy not only that I am happy with this piece, but I am pleased that I have come to appreciate myself as an artist, and am no longer afraid to express what I truly feel, worried about what anyone would think. This is MY ART, (combined with someone else’s of course), and I hope my client loves it as much as I do!

Enjoy the photos! And happy quilting, my friends!

2 thoughts on “Custom “Alaska” Quilt

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    so pretty!

Leave a Reply

