All Natural Hair Care

A few years back, I was reading through the internet news (if you’d call it that) and stumbled upon an article about all natural hair care. I read through the entire story and did a little research on the side, finding the information really interesting. I didn’t think with the amount of travel I had to do for my job that I could pull off doing the all natural hair care despite the need for few simple ingredients. Despite that feeling, I didn’t forget about the idea.

Fast forward a few years, and I decided to check it out again. So I searched the internet and found the simplest directions for my new regime. If you want to check it out first hand, do a search on “all natural baking soda shampoo”, and you’ll find a plethora of articles to peruse, all with instructions (they vary a bit) and LOTS of details on the perils of shampoo.

So for the past three weeks, I have been following this regime. After the first use my hair felt incredibly light, like years of waxy buildup from my conditioner had all been stripped away. About four days later my hair was a bit greasy, and then my scalp figured out the right amount of natural oil to produce and my hair has been fantastic ever since.

You see, shampoo is a detergent, and strips all the natural oils from your hair and scalp, which causes your scalp to produce excess oils, which is why your hair gets greasy after a day or so without reshampooing. I had to use conditioner to “rehydrate” my hair. Mass produced shampoo also contains very harmful ingredients to your health, such as sodium laurel sulfate and waste products such as mineral oil. Do you really want to put that on your body? See how great my hair looks now:

DIRECTIONS: This is so simple it’s ridiculous. And it’s VERY cheap. I take a glass measuring cup and put 2 cups of water in it. I heat it up a little (the first time I didn’t heat the water and it was sort of a shock to put the cold water on my head!) I then pour one cup of the water into my RINSE squeeze bottle, to which I add a little over one tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. Then I add one tablespoon of baking soda to the cup of water remaining in the measuring glass and stir until the baking soda has dissolved. I pour that into my SHAMPOO squeeze bottle.

Squeeze bottle? Yep, I spent a whole $2 for an empty ketchup and mustard squeeze bottle at the local grocer. They are the perfect size and work great!

Warm up your shower, get your hair and scalp thoroughly wet, and squeeze on your ‘shampoo’. Mainly focus on your scalp, it will inevitably get through your hair as well. I usually squeeze with one hand and rub it into my scalp with my fingers of the other hand. Then I rinse under the shower head.

To ‘condition’, squeeze the contents of your rinse bottle on your scalp in the same manner. Leave it in for a few minutes and rinse out under the shower water. As you do this you will find your hair easier to put fingers through to the ends.

Of course you can make this in larger batches if you like. I like to make it quick right before I shower, it’s SO easy.

Benefits? Money saving. My hair is lighter and more manageable. My hair doesn’t get greasy anymore. No chemicals and excess oils being put on my body. Better for the environment. I have been losing less hair. AND I only have to wash my hair every four days or so. The alternate days (like yesterday) I just rinse through my hair with the shower water.

Try it and you will be amazed. There is really no risk. Just gain! Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “All Natural Hair Care

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    great minds think alike 😉 This was one of the simple recipes that was published in “Chin Deep” back in 2000. Isn’t it amazing what a little vinegar can do? xo
    http://www.chindeep.com/2008/04/07/frugal-bath-beauty/

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    your hair looks BEAUTIFUL by the way 😉

  3. Kimber says:

    Ohhhhh I love this idea!!! I wash and condition and let it dry naturally. I don’t use other products, but I think I might like to try this as I’m trying to go more natural in as many ways as I can handle. This one would be great!! Thanks!!!

    • my hair has been so amazing since donig this. last thursday i took a shower and ‘washed and conditioned’ my hair via this method, then we went out of town. each morning i took a shower and only used water to rinse through my hair and it is still great! not greasy, easy to handle… LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

