Roasted Organic Beets

Sprouts had a sale, and I was there. Their golden and red organic beets were on sale, so I loaded up and excitedly got to work on them as soon as I returned home. Not a fan? Try this recipe. It is not only simple, but roasting the beets brings out their natural sweetness, which compliments that wonderful earthy flavor.

I bought 6 medium-sized beets, three of each color (of course you can use all red beets if that’s what is available). I rinsed off the dirt and peeled the beets, cutting off the bottom and top ends. Then I cut them into approximately 1″ chunks, placing them on tin foil.

Once I was finished cutting, I drizzled the beet chunks with olive oil and sprinkled sea salt and fresh cracked pepper over the whole lot. I transferred the tin foil full of delight into a glass baking dish and baked them at 375 until they are tender, stirring a few times for even cooking.

NOTE: I have had better results by using clay baking dish, so if you have one of those, I recommend using it. The foil is not necessary, but keeps clean up to a minimum.

If you aren’t a beet fan, I hope you will give it a try, even with just one beet. I have made believers in my household (children and skeptical men included). Happy cooking!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Organic Beets

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    beets are my least favorite food. but…I suppose I’ll try this. If you insist 😉 xo

    • I love beets, from the earthy organic smell when I first pick them out to the ruby red taste that teases my eye and the slightly sweet, peppery taste when I finally get to enjoy them. Just try it with one! Be generous with your olive oil and pepper and roast until your knife slips in easily. Let me know how it goes!

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    okay 🙂 I’ll keep you posted. You never know.

Leave a Reply

