Quilts of Valor Flag Quilt

Participating in the QOV (Quilts of Valor) program gives me pleasure. I know that I am an integral part of a chain of people that gives beauty, comfort and warmth to someone in need. Someone that is or has served in the military. No matter your political views or feelings about the military deployments, giving something from your heart to someone who risked their life and way of life to preserve yours.

This quilt was sent to me from a few ladies in Dallas and I was eager to get started. I decided to quilt it in a style known as Cool Water. It is a great look for quilts with water, but since this was a flag blowing in the wind, it worked just as well.

I used varietaged blue thread on the backside in the blue areas and a light blue thread on the front. Over the flag area of the quilt I used variegated red, white and blue thread on front and back. I couldn’t imagine using any other quilt.

I hope the soldier fortunate enough to receive this quilt feels the love that was put into it from the creators and quilter. Happy quilting my friends!

3 thoughts on “Quilts of Valor Flag Quilt

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    I love the Cool Water design! Some day I will make a quilt this way. I’m thinking something with the colors of earth, sky and beach glass 🙂

    • It’s really great, and works on many Japanese inspired quilts (or those with that style of material). Also quilts with any kind of water, dragonflies, and anything that might have wind. Sometimes I use ribbons (which is like a loose meander, then doubled back on itself to look like a ribbon) but in this case, this style as appropriate! plus it’s easy 🙂

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    It’s gorgeous. thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

