Planting the Fall Garden

I knew this day was coming. It was inevitable, creeping up behind me like a ghost in my dreams, leaving me desperately trying to scream out, but ultimately unable to let out one peep in retort. OK well it’s not quite that scary, but you get the idea.

I went out Monday to pick the okra that had grown wildly out of control (seriously, some of the pods were a FOOT LONG, so tough they were unusable at that point), then filtering through the pods to see what I could keep. I saw the ghostly shadows of my summer garden peeking over the fading cedar boards, glaring at me for leaving the grassy weeds to suck the life from the soil, stealing it from their own roots.

So I planned the day. I knew that today was going to be the morning that I would enjoy the sunshine warming my back while I weeded and plucked the lifeless remnants from the dry brown earth. I started with the cucumbers that so bitterly disappointed me upon harvest (literally, they were REALLY bitter).

I really tried tilling the soil, but I was so exhausted by that time, it was very clear to me how terribly out of shape I have become. I did manage to get enough turned over to plant some new seeds, which I decided would suffice, along with some organic fertilizer and soil nutrients.

My intention was to clear out those old vines and weeds and plant fall crops. I did succeed in that mission. I managed to plant winter squashes of 3 varieties, pumpkins, beets, carrots, radishes, cabbage, kohlrabi, beets, kale and spinach (those in the containers below).  

I also managed to plant the herb seeds I had left, although I have very minimal expectations for those pots, since they’ve been troublesome since the spring trial. I was too tired to get the bulbs in today.

I do still have the excitement and anticipation of watermelon and cantaloupe ripening. I need to do my research on how to know when they will be ripe, exactly, but they’re coming along nicely. See how many you can find amongst the green vines growing EVERYWHERE! I think there’s 5 melons in there!!!

And I know that next year I will have an amazing crop of asparagus, considering those leafy fronds that have graced my garden box ALL SUMMER LONG.

And as you can see, my okra is doing just fine. Happy gardening my friends!

6 thoughts on “Planting the Fall Garden

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    I love this post! I have decided to make a confession right here…right about the end of August I heartlessly let my herbs and annuals fry. I was SO freaking sick of watering. They’re dead. I’m a plant murderer. Your garden looks magazine worthy compared to mine. 🙂

    xoxo

    • Honestly Melissa, I had done the same with most of my crops. I just let them go, but now that it’s cooler and I can stomach the thought of going out to water, I’ve reinvigorated my garden and my committment to it. Hopefully it sticks, because I’ll have many winter squash and other veggies as a reward!

  2. Kimber says:

    You don’t even want to know what my unplanted garden area looks like right now!! I had gotten it weeded this spring, but never got it tilled or planted and now it’s full of massive weeds!! Pathetic. I’m going to spend some time weeding it out again, and then I’m redoing the edging (from white fencing to wood posts) and get it ready for winter. I won’t have to hassle as much come spring. I’m also going to check into doing some household herbs for the winter months. Fresh herbs are expensive from the store. Wish we had year round gardening weather like you do!!!

    • believe it or not the hardest gardening here is in the middle of summer! it’s so hot many of the crops bolt and the soil dries out too fast (plus it’s so dang hot I don’t want to go out to water it!!!) I figure I’ll have better luck with my cool season crops now because even in the case that we had some early cool weather, it would improve them! best of luck with your weeds!

  3. chindeep3141 says:

    Kimber, I love having an herb garden inside in the winter. Much easier to take care of than the outside one. I don’t have a hose in the back yard, so I have to lug a pitcher to and from the kitchen about 20,000 times. oye.

    • Amen to that! The plants seem todo well as long as they have some sunlight (actually any light) and moisture. So fragrant – I’ve also decided to clear off room on the bakers rack in the kitchen for my herbs this winter!

Leave a Reply

