CORN COB JELLY

Yep, that’s right, corn cob jelly. Never heard of it? I’d bet you could find it in some really old journals or cookbooks, maybe from the early American frontier days, when people really had to use everything they had to get by in life.

The funny thing is, this doesn’t taste like it is a nourishment bourne out of necessity. It tastes like smooth honey, with overtones of corn and a hint of citrus at the finish from the pectin. If you have never tried making it, I recommend you do, or at least find some to taste. You would likely be tasting something from our ancestor’s day.

It’s crazy simple, and starts with you buying corn. Fresh = better, so if you have a local farm, get it from ‘that guy’. But waste not: blanch your corn until the kernels are bright, cool your cobs and cut the corn off. Freeze it, can it, eat it, whatever you want. Just don’t toss it. Don’t toss the cobs either; follow along my friends!

CORN COB JELLY:

Ingredients:

  • 10 corn cobs
  • 4 cups water (use the water you blanched your corn in)
  • 1 package pectin
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp butter (or oil if you’re vegan)
  • 2 drops yellow food coloring

Directions:

Break cobs in pieces, throw back into blanching water and bring to a boil for 20 minutes. Cool and strain (if you want more corny flavor, you can actually squeeze the liquid from the cobs prior to discarding). If you want, you can put the little corn pieces into the jelly liquid for some texture and appearance value. Totally a personal decision.

Measure the liquid you boiled the corn cobs in; save 3.5 cups. If you need to add water to come to that quantity, do so. Put that liquid back into your put, and add your packet of pectin and butter. Bring your liquid to a slow boil for one minute, then add sugar SLOWLY! NOTE!! Add 1 cup, stir and taste. From here, add sugar to taste. Adding too much sugar will mask the natural flavor coming out of the cobs and make your jelly taste too sweet.

Once you have added all the sugar you want, add your food coloring to make the color less blah and return to a full boil for one minute. Remove from heat. Fill your jars, leaving 1/4 inch headspace, wipe rims, cover and process for 10 minutes.

The only tricky thing about this jelly is that when it cools (as you fill your jars), it will get that weird film layer on the top. Just be wary and quick filling your jars.

OTHER NOTES: I actually had 37 cobs when I made this batch :). I filled the pot with the cobs and as much water as I could add to the blanching liquid to fill the pot. It ended up giving me about 14 cups so I used about 2.5-3 times the pectin and I think 5 cups of sugar.

After I boiled the cobs, I let them cool and squeezed all the milk from the cobs. I strained ALL my cooking liquid (and that milk) through a fine seive lined with cheesecloth, so there aren’t any chunks, but the liquid is opaque.

This jelly may take up to a week to set. You can ensure you have hit the jelling point by taking a spoonful of the jelly from the pot on your last boil and sticking it in the fridge for a minute. When you take the plate out, run y our finger down the middle. If the jelly doesn’t come back together, it will set. You can also judge by the boil – the bubbles look like they are boiling up through some liquid thicker than water (which they are), almost like slow motion.

 

So when winter rolls around (in this heat I know I can barely wait for it to get here!), throw some wood on the fire, grab yourself some fresh-from-the-oven cornbread and slather this on top, letting it melt just slightly. Close your eyes as you take the first bite, just listening to the crackle of the fire, and find yourself in a wonderful place.

Happy canning my friends.

3 thoughts on “CORN COB JELLY

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    LOVE the color! What a neat, unique thing to can. Can’t wait to sample 😉

    • Honestly, I put some in the fridge and tried it plain on the spoon. I really liked it, but much like the first time I tried steak tartare, I had to get over the mental aspect due to the flavor and how I was used to eating it. I think in this case, application may be key. I think using it in a honey fashion may best showcase the flavor. Maybe I’ll have to make some jalepeno cornbread to prove my point. 🙂

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    oh yes! with a little tofurkey bacon crumbled on the top…mmmmmm….hee hee 🙂

Leave a Reply

