Rustic Vegan Creamy Mushroom Soup

rustic vegan mushroom soup

I LOVE mushrooms. All of them, every single type. So when I started eating vegan, I was sad to be missing out on all the soups I used to make with Cream of Mushroom soup as a base. Today I have erased every bit of that yearning by creating this relatively easy-to-create soup.

I began with my basic method for “sauteeing” mushrooms. I bought 2 8oz packages of sliced baby portabellas, put them into a glass dish, sprayed them lightly with Bragg Amino spray and microwaved the dish on high for 5 minutes, uncovered. Soy sauce works well as a substitute, just don’t overdo it because your mushrooms will be too salty.

Any juices from the glass dish can go straight into a large saucepan. I added 5 carrots chopped in half, 5 stalks of celery chopped in half, an onion chopped in quarters, 6 cloves of smashed garlic, 1 tbsp dried thyme, 2 bay leaves and about 4 cups of water. I was roasting veggies, so I used the tough stalks from my asparagus as well. You can really use any veggies you have around, or stalks from them that you won’t eat. I also squeezed half a lemon into the pot.

In a large glass measuring cup, I heated 3 cups of water with 2 large vegetable bouillon cubes and soaked 1 small package wood mushrooms and 1 small package shitake mushrooms. Feel free to use any mushrooms you can find (fresh or dried), I just used what I happened to have.

Once the mushrooms were soft, I poured the remaining liquid into the saucepan and combined the mushrooms with my other bowl of mushrooms. Now I boiled my vegetable broth until the veggies were soft and it smelled awesome. Then I strained it and tossed the vegetables. EASY VERSION OF BROTH = POUR IT OUT OF A BOX. Season to taste.

I combined the broth and the mushrooms in the saucepot. I didn’t like so many large mushroom pieces, so when I put my little 12.3 oz box of firm tofu in the blender, I added some of the mushrooms and broth from the pot. This created a creamier texture. I heated it through, added a few shakes of cayenne and topped it with chopped green onions and a squeeze of lemon to serve. I only stopped at one bowl because I should have waited for dinner to eat it in the first place! Happy cooking!!

One thought on “Rustic Vegan Creamy Mushroom Soup

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    yummy! can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

