Sports jersey quilt

In this case, it was hockey jerseys. And the boy-man that wore these jerseys was NOT small.

hockey jersey quilt

This quilt was quite hard to make due to it’s size (it’s a queenie) and the weight of the jerseys. There were 25 panels to deal with, each measuring 17″ wide by 18″ long.

Eachc panel was stabilized and trimmed, then sashing added to give a little separation to each panel. I appliqued a few patches with the team names onto the top and quilted it in my steadfast manly stitch style.

This is a great stitch to use with tough materials.

triangular meander

 

With parts of these jerseys very thick (like the necklines and the patches) I had to be very careful with my hopping foot to get over those spaces for an even stitch.

So my main point is that really, a quilt can be made not just from t-shirts, or even baby clothing. This quilt required the same thought process of a t-shirt quilt = use stabilizer for each block, trim it square, be aware of stretching while attaching sashing, iron, trim, iron, trim, etc. Then when quilting, watch out for the trouble-generating areas, like where there were thick seams.

You can make a quilt out of home decor fabric if you like. Just consider how the fabric will react in each stage of the process (buckling, stretching) so you can work with it for a great end result. And look for resources to help you (most quilters are super happy to share info). Happy quilting my friends!

5 thoughts on “Sports jersey quilt

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    cool!

  2. […] some of it anyway.  I got a (not so original) idea to take all my kids old hockey jerseys and make hockey jersey quilts out of them as Christmas gifts.  A quick poll of my 3 children revealed that they all thought it […]

  3. May I ask how you stabilized the quilting patches/squares? I am looking to make a quilt using some jerseys, a variety of thickness- some of them are mesh!! I have only made cotton quilts previously so I don’t know how to stabilize them & some sites mentioned that I can’t use anything Iron-On because it will melt them, yet no one has offered a specific solution to working with the delicate mesh jerseys. Do you have any ideas? Yours turned out beautifully!

    • Hi Heather! That quilt did turn out really well. Jerseys are really intimidating, but it’s not as bad as you anticipate. I use various Pellon products, thicker with stretchier and thinner fabrics, but there is a stabilizer by Rowley that is really nice and thick you may want to use with the mesh shirts. Look at the paper instructions for the stabilizers so you can ensure to pick one that doesn’t require high heat. You can also cut a bit of the jersey that you won’t need to use for the quilt and test it, so if you do melt it, you won’t have lost anything you needed to use (you may just need to clean off your iron).

      I have also found, with the various irons I’ve used, that the iron always seems to have a surge of excess heat when I first turn it on, so don’t iron the jersey right away if you’ve just heated the iron. But I’ve ALWAYS used iron on stabilizers with EVERYTHING clothing I have made. ALso make sure the jersey is face down and the stabilizer is on top, sticky side down. This way you won’t melt the decal or the stabilizer sticky stuff onto your iron. If you are worried about that melting onto your ironing board, put a cloth underneath the shirt as you iron.

      My best advice to you is to test it. I wouldn’t use the lightest weight stabilizer for this project, but try some mid-weight and test them on the bits of jersey you don’t need for the quilt. Then you will know what YOU feel most comfortable with! I currently have Pellon 911FW (featherweight) which is VERY lightweight, Pellon 911FFB10 which is thicker and Pellon 950F shirtailor. I would suggest one of those two to try, or the Rowley. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

