Finding your Inspiration

It’s beautiful outside, the morning after a storm. The grass is still wet from the heavy rain, which the sun will surely dry out soon. There is a slight, cool breeze, spinning the pinwheels in my garden. My attention is lost somewhere out my window, wondering where the cardinal is that I hear chirping.

As beautiful as my morning has begun, this isn’t helping my motivation level. It’s time to get up and move onto my sewing projects. I have a number of projects at various stages, any of which I could try to finish. I think I’m going to try two tactics: listing out projects to work on (and any deadlines) and using nature to guide my efforts.

Often when I quilt, I look to nature and the quilt pattern and material to find what design would be best stitched on the cloth. Today I am using that tactic to figure out which project to work on. I will start with a cup of tea and a button repair. Then I will sew rows together and a border to finish a top. Finally, I will work on the Earth quilt. It takes a lot of creative energy and quite literally, wears me out mentally. So I’ll work my way up to it! Then I can quilt the Quilt of Valor project with a clear head. Then later I can sit on the back patio with a quilt history book and relax. šŸ™‚

Happy Sewing my friends!

One thought on “Finding your Inspiration

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    Awesome. Nature really is an amazing muse, isn’t it? And tea. Of course, tea šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

