Last weekend’s run

OK so this is on a bit more of a personal note, but expect me to share more than just quilting. Last weekend my girls and I participated in a 5K to raise money for lung cancer research. I was so proud of them. It was a bit warm, but the event didn’t begin until 2pm, so the temperature was in the high 80’s, with the sun shining brightly.

With the heat creeping in on us, and the innate difficulty of doing a longer race than you have done before (for Amy it was, Kaela has already run a few), Amy and I made a motto to keep ourselves going. If you have ever watched the claymation Christmas movies, you’ll remember the song about putting one foot in front of the other. That’s it! 

The result is encouraging. It wasn’t a timed event, so by result I don’t mean how fast we ran (actually Amy and I walked most of it). I am excited that all three of us want to continue finding weekend runs to join!

Next weekend (4/16) we will be running through the Fort Worth zoo in a timed event. Or walking. But the point is that we will be up and moving, exercising as a family. It feels so good to help my girls find and grow healthy lifestyles, and be happy and good feeling as a result.

lung cancer fundraiser 5k

4 thoughts on “Last weekend’s run

  1. chindeep3141 says:

    What a great cause! Thanks for sharing Maria 🙂

  2. chindeep3141 says:

    I forgot to ask, did you end up doing a 5K when you were visiting MN?

Leave a Reply

